Sunday, 24 June 2012

MEK-NCRI: Largest Iranian pro-democracy Gathering- Yes To Key Opposition

500 prominent political personalities, parliamentarians and jurists from 40 countries and five continents demand basic rights for Liberty residents (MEK members); and formal recognition of NCRI
  • No more excuses. No more lies. We want action on Camp Ashraf/Liberty”-Vice President of the European Parliament Aleco-Vidal Quadras ,Villepinte
  •  We pledge support to Millions in Iran and men and women, at the front line of freedom fighters in Liberty. It    is for the truth for Freedom and not riches and glory that we fight for.” -President of the European Parliament’s Delegation for Relations with Iraq, Struan Stevenson
  •  We encourage Clinton to delist MEK if not the Court shall undo the injustice inflicted on the pro-democracy group.”-The EP delegation
  • Contrary to its official pledge on February 16, the U.S. has unfortunately violatedits commitment. Instead, it is insisting that Ashraf residents move to a prison just for a mere promise, and if they reject going to prison, the illegal designation will continue and they will be accused of cessation of negotiations and not cooperating. Hereby, the oppressed is replaced by the oppressor once again.”-Mrs. Maryam Rajavi, President-elect of the Iranian resistance, Villepinte, June 23, 2012
Through its strongest protest against turning Camp Liberty into a prison, the gathering urged the United Nations, the U.S. and the European Union to prevent a humanitarian catastrophe in Ashraf and Liberty. The simple demands included:

-The guarantee of the rights of residents to ‘asylum-seekers of concern’ under the Fourth Geneva Convention
-The UN-US observers to force Iraq to stop its cruel restrictions against the residents
-Secretary Clinton to immediately implement the US court’s ruling to rid the unjust designation against the Iranian Resistance; a devastating policy has been used to justify two massacres in Ashraf, execution and torture of lots of members and sympathizers of the MEK inside Iran while imposing brutal limitations against Iranians in the United States.
-Iraq-UN to respect and realize the basic 6 demands: providing water and electricity vital for survival of residents; keep Iraqi assault units out of camp; prevent Iranian Intelligence agents from intrusions into the camp; recognize Liberty as a Refugee Camp; Allow belongings of residents be transferred with them and their immobile assets be sold to provide support for the refugees.

The key speaker of the massive gathering reported by CBSNews to be 100 000, was Mrs.Maryam Rajavi, President-elect of the Iranian resistance. She described thewrit of the Federal Court of Appeal in Washington against the illegal tag on the PMOI as a great historical achievement and said: “Through thisdesignation, they sought to disavow the right of the Iranian nation to the regime change; but the resistance proved that right. This policy, which is used to preserve the mullahs’ regime, and has been a big obstacle in the path of Iranian people’s freedom, and has had no use other than preparing the ground for massacre of Ashraf residents, has to be eradicated.” She added, “I hope Mrs. Clinton would personally put an end to this illegal designation.”

Some of the speakers were,:
From U.S.: Rudy Giuliani, former mayor of New York and presidency candidate (2008); Gov. Ed Rendell, Chair of the Democratic National Committee (1999-2001) and Governor of Pennsylvania (2002-2011); Bill Richardson, former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations and Governor of New Mexico (2003-2011); John Bolton, former US Ambassador to the United Nations); Judge Michael Mukasey, US Attorney General in the Bush Administration (2007-2009); Ambassador Mitchell Reiss, former Director of Policy Planning at the US Department of State (2003-2005); Robert Torricelli, former Senator; Robert Joseph, U.S. Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security; Ambassador Phillip Crowley, Assistant Secretary of State (2009-2011); Linda Chavez, former White House Director for Public Liaison; a number of former military commanders including Gen. George W. Casey, Army Chief of Staff and commander of Coalition forces in Iraq (2004-2007); Gen. James Conway, 34th Commandant of the United States Marine Corps; Gen. David Phillips, Commander of U.S. Military Police (2008-2011); Col. WesleyMartin, former Senior Anti-terrorism Force Protection Officer for all Coalition Forces in Iraq and Commander of Forward Operation Base in Ashraf; Lt. Col Leo McCloskey, Commander of Forward Operation Base in Ashraf until 2009; Glenn Carle, former Deputy National Intelligence for Transnational Threats; and Clarence Page, The 1989 Pulitzer Prize winner for Commentary.
 From European Parliament: Alejo Vidal-Quadras, Vice President of the European parliament; Struan Stevenson, President of Delegation for Relations with Iraq of the European Parliament; Tasha de Vasconcelos, humanitarian Ambassador for European Union;
 From France: Philippe Douste-Blazy, Former French Foreign Minister and to the UN Secretary General; Bruno Le Roux, chair of the socialist group in the French Assembly; Senateur Jean-Pierre Michel, co-president of the French Committee for a Democratic Iran; Jean-Pierre Brard former member of the French National Assembly; Dominique Lefebvre, Mayor of Cergy and member of National Assembly; Aude de Thuin, Founder and president of the Women’s Forum for the Economy and Society; Cynthia Fleury, professor of political philosophy from American University in Paris; and Yves Bonnet former director of the French DST.
 From Algeria: Sid Ahmed Ghozali, former Prime minister, and Anissa Boumediene, lawyer and former first Lady;
 From UK: Brian Binley, MP from the House of Commons; 
From Switzerland: Remy Pagani, Mayor of Geneva; Jean-Charles Rielle, Head of the Geneva City Council; Eric Voruz, member of the Swiss Parliament; 
 From Germany: Rita Sussmuth, Former President of the German Bundestag; Professor Günter, Commissioner of Europe (1999-2009);  Otto Bernhardt, Chairman of the German Committee of solidarity with free Iran;
 From Italy and San MarinoEmma Bonino,Vice-President of Italian Senate, former European Commissioner and former
Italian Minister of International Trade; Carlo Ciccioli, co-Chair of the Italian Committee of Parliamentarians and citizens for a free Iran;
 From Nordic countries: Geir Haarde, former Prime Minister of Iceland;
 From IrelandAmbassador John Bruton, Former Irish Prime Minister; Dara Murphy, foreign spokesman for Ireland’s ruling Fianna Fail party;
 From Palestine: Nejat Boubakir, member of parliament;
 From Jordan: Nariman Al-rosan, member of Parliament; 
 From Colombia: Ingrid Betancourt, Former presidential candidate; 
 From Romania: Raymond Luca, a senior member of the foreign affairs committee;
 From Canada: David Kilgour, former minister;
 From Albania: Pandeli Majko, Former Prime Minster; and
 From Afghanistan: Shokrieh Peykan, member of parliament.


Post a Comment